My Virtual Blog Tour

Thank you to Shantaya for inviting me to be part of this blog tour. Check out her blog and post on this too, it’s a fantastic read:

http://thepinkexpat.com/2014/10/20/virtual-blog-tour/

The Virtual Blog Tour is all about the creative process and has three simple rules:

1. Compose a one-time post which is posted on Monday (date will be given to you from whoever passes on the tour).

2. Answer these four questions about your creative process which lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do:

  • What am I working on?
  • How does my work differ from others of its genre?
  • Why do I write/create what I do?
  • How does your writing/creating process work?

3. Pass the tour on to up to four other bloggers. Get their permission first, give them rules and a specific Monday to post.

Here’s my Virtual Blog Tour: πŸ™‚

What am I working on?

Nothing in particular! I write poetry every day, so I guess that counts. . . I’m also busy writing up the events I’ve been involved with as part of my horticultural training, like a study trip to Belgium and other conferences and seminars.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

This is a tough one! To be honest I have no idea. I think writing is a very personal matter which means everyone can interpret the same piece of writing in a different way – we never look at the world through identical pairs of eyes. It’s a bit like art, I’m not saying Picasso wasn’t talented, just that his style wasn’t for me!

The main aim I hope to achieve with my writing is to inspire people. I hope my passion for what I do and what I write about can translate to others – my positive and passionate writing style is what differs me from the rest. πŸ˜‰

Why do I write/create what I do?

Because I have to! I couldn’t not write, it would be like not breathing. Poetry is the way I express myself most freely, I’ve been doing that since I was old enough to pick up a pen. I share my love of plants because, again, I just have to. When I’m as passionate about my life as I am it’s impossible to keep that enthusiasm to myself. Writing is a part of me, it’s not a chore – it’s a joy.

How does my writing/creating process work?

I have to be honest here – it is pretty random! I think the best way to sum it up would be β€œorganised chaos”. I never have a certain time in the day I set aside for writing, although I’d keep my blogs up to date a hell of a lot more if there was!

My poetry is ongoing, I have a little notebook I take with me everywhere – even at work. My job as a horticulturist involves me spending all my time outside, so nature is my main inspiration for my poetry.

I write about my plant life as and when things happen. I’m always visiting gardens, getting involved with horticultural events, and working in a beautiful garden of course. I probably share as many photos of plants as I do words in a post but hey – a picture is worth a thousand words! In short I write whenever I’m inspired.

There we go! Hope you enjoyed the read and learnt something new about my writing style from this blog tour. I’d like to invite the following bloggers to participate in this Virtual Blog Tour on the 15th December:

poetry, photos and musings oh my!

Randomlyabstract

journeyintopoetry

4 Comments

  1. This was a great read, Becka! Loved the peak into your mindset, especially the “it’s not a chore, it’s a joy” part πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Glad you enjoyed the read πŸ˜€ x

      Like

  2. Oh God, I’m so stupid. Exactly ten days late to the given day for participation– thanks to my amazing procrastination skills and okay, life was weird and I wasn’t really able to write a proper blog, so sorry about the delay but THANK YOU for the nomination, beckarooney!

    I can totally relate to your answer: When writing becomes part of a person, there’s just no way not doing it. I write for the joy of it too, and because I *have* to.
    I hope your days are going great, and things are awesome at your end! I enjoyed this blog tour. πŸ˜€

    All the best,
    ~ maria.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha no problem at all, life gets in the way of living sometimes! Nice to hear you enjoyed my blog tour, hope you had an awesome Christmas and New year πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

What are your thoughts?

