A Day in Brighton

Last month I went on a coach trip to Brighton – it was my summer holiday in a day! I’ve always wanted to visit it, ever since watching the series “Sugar Rush” which is based in the centre of Brighton. It was weird seeing the different landmarks I recognised from a TV screen!

The day couldn’t have had more perfect weather, it was gloriously hot and sunny. After spending nearly two hours on a coach it was heavenly stepping out into baking hot sunshine. We parked directly opposite the Pier, I got incredibly excited as soon as I saw the sea – it’s the best reminder of home.

Brighton Pier

IMG_4338

IMG_4339

The beach

IMG_4343

Views from the Pier

IMG_4358

IMG_4509

IMG_4350

IMG_4352

IMG_4510

IMG_4355

I could have spent all day on the beach but instead I went exploring. I found the town centre and was looking for the famous Lanes which I eventually stumbled across by accident! It was a series of tiny, narrow streets, filled with the most awesome, eclectic shops. I actually started my Christmas shopping then and there, I knew I wouldn’t find presents anywhere else like it!

The Lanes

20140621_132423

I then saw the Royal Pavilion, it was pretty hard to miss it! It had a really authentic oriental appearance, it was strange seeing it in a place like Brighton – it’s the sort of thing you expect to see in India! Nonetheless it was a magnificent building, a definite highlight.

Royal Pavilion

IMG_4440

IMG_4439

IMG_4436

IMG_4369

IMG_4370

IMG_4381

I went round Brighton Museum and Art Gallery, seeing as it was practically next to the Royal Pavilion. I learnt a lot about the history of Brighton just by reading the snippets of information in the different sections.

Various things in the museum

IMG_4389

IMG_4412

IMG_4414

IMG_4417

IMG_4421

IMG_4426

Loved this quirky library!

IMG_4403

IMG_4401

I loved the Performance and Fashion areas the most, my favourites were the Punch and Judy puppets and a pair of pointe shoes worn by Galina Siderenko for Les Ballets in 1933. How cool is that!

Punch and Judy

IMG_4394

Ballet shoes

IMG_4392

I thought the old-fashioned bathing costumes were brilliant, I’d wear one of them nowadays!

Fashion items

IMG_4397

IMG_4408

IMG_4409

My favourite bathing costume!

IMG_4410

On the way back to the Pier I saw a park with a lovely water feature and a colourful bedding display. Cosmos with dahlias worked wonderfully!

Bedding display

IMG_4364

IMG_4443

I saw the Brighton Dome too!

IMG_4432

IMG_4430

I had fish and chips on the beach, how could I not?! It was heaving with people by lunch time, it’s clear why Brighton is such a holiday hot-spot.

Views of the beach

IMG_4446

IMG_4449

IMG_4451

IMG_4462

IMG_4463

I saw the wreck of the West Pier which was hauntingly beautiful, especially with seagulls circling overhead.

West Pier

IMG_4458

IMG_4466

Grumpy seagull!

IMG_4457

I went on the Brighton Wheel and saw stunning views – I could see for miles! The sea stretched on forever, I suddenly realised how long the Pier went on for. I could have done all my sight-seeing from that one spot!

Views from Brighton Wheel

IMG_4473

IMG_4477

IMG_4478

IMG_4480

IMG_4483

IMG_4493

IMG_4497

IMG_4500

IMG_4501

I had an ice-cream on the promenade before the journey home, the best way to end my day in Brighton. I hope you enjoyed the photos. 🙂

8 Comments

  1. avian101

    Such a pretty beach! Your tours are getting better and better Becky! Great pictures too!
    Thanks! 🙂

    Like

    • It was gorgeous! Thank you HJ, glad you enjoyed this tour 🙂 x

      Like

  2. Fabulous Becky! I don’t care where anyone goes in the world there is nothing quite like the traditional English seaside towns with the piers! I just find them glorious! Its a shame some have become worn down with time and neglect but Brighton looks absolutely wonderful. And you took some great photos, I felt as though I was there! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much Christine! For me there’s nothing better than the English seaside, it’s such an iconic part of the UK. It was a fabulous trip! Thanks again 😀 xx

      Like

  3. BEAUTIFUL PHOTOS! And those dresses omg! Must have been a great trip! xx

    Like

    • Thank you! It was fantastic, I never knew how much there was to see in Brighton 😀 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • My pleasure. 🙂 I do wish to visit the Brighton museum and that wonderful Dome someday!

        Like

      • You should! It’s well worth it 🙂 x

        Like

What are your thoughts?

