Harry Potter World

When my parents came to visit me the other week I gave my dad his belated Father’s Day present – a tour of Harry Potter World! Aren’t I the best daughter ever?!

Me and dad outside the Warner Bros. Studios

IMG_4805

IMG_4808

As I only live half an hour away from the Warner Bros. Studios it made perfect sense to go there. Me and my dad are big fans of Harry Potter, we didn’t go as far as dressing up in costume for the tour but it was tempting!

Harry’s bedroom

IMG_4812

The Yule Ball

IMG_4839

IMG_4841

IMG_4842

Corridor in the Leaky Cauldron

IMG_4861

Costumes

IMG_4851

IMG_4881

IMG_4956

IMG_4955

When we were waiting for the tour to begin I could see faces from all over the world had come to see the studios where all the magic happened – literally. There were people from Japan, Australia, America. . . it suddenly hit me what a big global sensation Harry Potter is.

The Great Hall

IMG_4815

IMG_4821

IMG_4824

IMG_4826

IMG_4827

Snape’s Classroom

IMG_4904

IMG_4909

IMG_4911

We spent four hours looking round, it was great being able to look at everything in your own time, after the initial introduction from the very enthusiastic WB Studio staff of course. The first studio had all the different sets, like the Great Hall, Dumbledore’s Office, Snape’s classroom, Hagrid’s Hut, the Gryffindor boys’ dormitory, as well as costumes, props and more.

Dumbledore’s Office

IMG_4902

IMG_4894

The Burrow

IMG_4949

IMG_4951

Hagrid’s Hut

IMG_4948

IMG_4945

Various props

IMG_4867

IMG_4880

IMG_4883

Triwizard Tournament Trophy

IMG_4885

IMG_4888

Horcruxes

IMG_4914

Chamber of Secrets door

IMG_4938

Mad Eye Moody’s Trunk

IMG_4933

Flying side-car

IMG_4926

Time for Quidditch!

IMG_4931

I loved reading about all the little details which made the films so authentic – for example the books on the shelves in Dumbledore’s Office are just British phonebooks covered in leather. How cool is that!

Gryffindor Boy’s Dormitory and Common Room

IMG_4857

IMG_4872

Ministry of Magic Fireplace

IMG_4966

Dolores Umbridge’s costumes and office

IMG_4970

IMG_4973

More props

IMG_4964

Newspaper snippets and Harry’s letters

IMG_4958

IMG_4959

The Marauder’s Map

IMG_4961

There was also a green room where you could actually ride a broomstick as well as sit in the flying car from the second film – of course I had a go, dad restrained himself however! I wore a massive robe down to my ankles, when I picked up the photos afterwards I was pretty surprised at how good a witch I made!

The Knight Bus (and me!)

IMG_4984

IMG_4983

Flying cars!

IMG_5027

IMG_5032

We then stepped outside into brilliant sunshine, it was a gorgeous summer’s evening. I loved wandering round the Studio’s Backlot, it had all the exterior sets like the Knight Bus, chess pieces, the Hogwarts Bridge and the flying car and side-car.

The Hogwarts Bridge

IMG_5024

IMG_5014

IMG_5009

Chess Pieces

IMG_5018

IMG_5025

IMG_5020

My favourite was Privet Drive, I nearly squeaked when I saw it. It felt like I had been transported into a scene from a Harry Potter film! It was so strange seeing it for real after seeing it so many times on the TV.

Privet Drive

IMG_5006

IMG_5000

IMG_5002

We had to buy a Butterbeer, how could we refuse?! It was a very peculiar taste, the only way I can describe it is like cold fizzy hot chocolate. It was quite nice for the first few mouthfuls then it became a tad sickly!

Butterbeer!

IMG_4998

Goblins and Dobby

IMG_5043

IMG_5053

IMG_5081

Buckbeak

IMG_5062

IMG_5064

Other familiar faces!

IMG_5040

IMG_5042

IMG_5052

IMG_5055

IMG_5061

IMG_5077

IMG_5105

IMG_5107

IMG_5090

We spent ages in the Creature Effects Studio, it was incredible seeing things like the goblin heads, Buckbeak the Hippogriff, Hagrid’s head, Dobby, Fawkes the Phoenix, etc, in front of my eyes. They were unbelievably lifelike, it was great learning about how they were made and which things were hand-controlled and which bits were actually worn by actors.

Dragons

IMG_5111

IMG_5069

Fawkes

IMG_5046

Hedwig

IMG_5057

Voldemort’s Soul

IMG_5059

Hagrid, Hermione, Draco, Dumbledore, Harry

IMG_5084

IMG_5086

IMG_5087

IMG_5092

IMG_5093

I nearly gave myself a heart attack at one point, I looked up and saw the massive spider Aragog glaring down at me! I don’t mind spiders but seeing that above my head was something else!

Aragog

IMG_5066

IMG_5067

Gringotts

IMG_5114

Diagon Alley

IMG_5120

IMG_5123

IMG_5124

IMG_5125

IMG_5128

IMG_5130

IMG_5139

It was so cool walking through Diagon Alley and seeing Gringotts, Ollivanders and the Weasley twins shop. I half-expected to see Harry, Ron and Hermione come strolling round the corner!

Art and Graphics

IMG_5148

Sketches and drawings

IMG_5150

IMG_5155

IMG_5158

IMG_5160

IMG_5161

The Art and Graphics department at the very end was the most surprising and amazing for sure. The walls were covered in drawings and sketches of props like broomsticks and the Durmstrang Ship. My brother is a fantasy illustrator and I kept thinking to myself how much he would have loved looking in detail at the hand-drawn pictures. Even though I’m no artist I could still appreciate the enormous amount of hard work it must have taken to achieve all of it.

Small scale models

IMG_5167

IMG_5169

IMG_5149

IMG_5170

IMG_5173

IMG_5178

IMG_5180

IMG_5182

We were teased by being shown small scale models of things like the Womping Willow and the Prefect’s Bathroom, then we went through a set of doors and had our breath completely taken away. . . SPOILER ALERT!!

Hogwarts Castle – OMG!

IMG_5188

IMG_5193

IMG_5196

IMG_5197

IMG_5198

IMG_5202

IMG_5206

There was a 1:24 scale model of the Hogwarts castle in full view, it was phenomenal! It was used for exterior shots in the films, I couldn’t believe how realistic it was. You could see it from all angles, the detail was magnificent – that is what I call a work of art.

IMG_5210

IMG_5211

IMG_5212

IMG_5213

IMG_5217

IMG_5222

To complete the tour we looked round the gift shop. It was very expensive, especially for my student budget, so I made do with a keyring and fridge magnet! It was an awesome, unforgettable experience, it is definitely worth going if you are even a little bit of a Harry Potter fan – you won’t regret it! 🙂

14 Comments

  1. avian101

    Wow! You’re Dad must have been thrilled with this place! Good girl Becky! 🙂

    Like

  2. WOW, your photos are absolutely amazing. I wanna go 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! You definitely should go, it was fantastic 😀 x

      Like

  3. Awesome shots! I think I’ve seen the whole studio already. Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hah thank you! It was a photo version of the tour 😉 x

      Like

  4. Wow Becky what a gift for your dad! Wonderful! I bet he was thrilled. And you look thrilled too! This is an amazing set of photos and something to treasure. 😊 xx

    Like

    • He was so happy! He loved the tour – we both did! 😀 It was definitely an experience to treasure, thank you Christine 🙂 xx

      Like

  5. Great Photos, I could have spend a whole week there! Hopefully one day I can visit the Universal Studios in America and Japan. But I have to contend with the Studios in which they were filmed for now. Here’s a short review I did a while a go. > http://rwh92.wordpress.com/2013/11/10/harry-potter-studios/
    If you fancy, navigate the tabs at the top of the page to find a book/film/other review that interest you. Thanks 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Same here, I wanted to live there! I’ll check out your site, thanks for stopping by mine 🙂 x

      Like

  6. I had no idea there was a Harry Potter theme park! I loved all the photos and your descriptions of your experiences there. Everyone in my family has read all the books and seen all the movies, and earlier this year I just read the first novel translated into Spanish to practice Spanish.

    While the books were first coming out, I remember a cartoon that I saw in the newspaper. It depicted two men on a bluff overlooking a vast forest, and the one man was sweeping his arm out and saying, “Some day all of this will become Harry Potter books.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow reading it in Spanish sounds like a challenge! The cartoon you saw definitely sounded like a prediction for the future, there really is a Harry Potter World now! It was amazing, a once in a lifetime experience. I’m very glad I went! Thank you for your comment, glad you enjoyed this post 😀 x

    Like

  8. Yaay, great photos! I’m so glad you went 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! Me too, it was sooo cool! 😀 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

