How I Write – A Writing Process Blog Tour

I’d like to thank Loss for Words for asking me to be part of this writing process blog tour – thank you for the invite! Do check out her post on this, it’s a great read: http://lossforwords360.wordpress.com/2014/05/19/how-this-girl-writes-a-writing-process-blog-tour/
It’s always interesting to hear what other writers are up to, and to get to know other bloggers too. Without further ado here is my writing process blog tour!

Writing

What am I working on at the moment?
Nothing in particular! I write poetry every day, so I guess that counts. . . I’m also busy writing up the events I’ve been involved with at work recently, such as the RHS Chelsea Flower Show.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?
This is a tough one! To be honest I have no idea. I think writing is a very personal matter which means everyone can interpret the same piece of writing in a different way – we never look at the world through identical pairs of eyes. It’s a bit like art, I’m not saying Picasso wasn’t talented, just that his style wasn’t for me!
The main aim I hope to achieve with my writing is to inspire people. I hope my passion for what I do and what I write about can translate to others – my positive and passionate writing style is what differs me from the rest! 😉

Why do I write what I do?
Because I have to! I couldn’t not write, it would be like not breathing. Poetry is the way I express myself most freely, I’ve been doing that since I was old enough to pick up a pen. I share my love of plants because, again, I just have to. When I’m as passionate about my life as I am it’s impossible to keep that enthusiasm to myself. Writing is a part of me, it’s not a chore – it’s a joy.

How does my writing process work?
I have to be honest here – it is pretty random! I think the best way to sum it up would be “organised chaos”. I never have a certain time in the day I set aside for writing, although I’d keep my blogs up to date a hell of a lot more if there was!
My poetry is ongoing, I have a little notebook I take with me everywhere – even at work. My job as a horticulturist involves me spending all my time outside, so nature is my main inspiration for my poetry. I have lots of scribblings in my notebook at the moment, watch this space for the finished drafts to appear as posts!
I write about my plant life as and when things happen. I’m always visiting gardens, getting involved with horticultural events, and working in a beautiful garden of course. I probably share as many photos of plants as I do words in a post but hey – a picture is worth a thousand words! In short I write whenever I’m inspired.

I hope you enjoyed learning something from this post that you didn’t know about my writing process before. I’m hoping to share some poetry at the weekend, and more Chelsea highlights on my other blog Life of a Plant Lover. Until then have a fabulous Bank Holiday weekend! 🙂

8 Comments

  1. Great to hear all this Becky! I can tell writing is part of you. You have a great bank holiday too! 😊 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Christine! Writing definitely is a part of me. I had a lovely bank holiday, hope you did too 😀 xx

      Like

      • We had a good time inside looking out at torrential rain! With fanily though so was lovely. 😊 xx

        Like

      • The weather was pretty miserable here too! My parents were with me however so we still had a great time. Glad you had a nice time with your family, it’s what the holidays are for! 🙂 xx

        Like

  2. I participated in this a few weeks ago as well! Like you, I love learning about the processes of other writers. I find it motivational and inspiring to learn new methods and tricks! 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve just read your post on this and really enjoyed it! 🙂 thank you for your comment! x

      Like

  3. Loved hearing about how you write, dear heart–I’m guessing the plants/flowers/trees all give you plenty of inspiration.

    Like

    • Thank you! Nature is my biggest inspiration, without a doubt 🙂 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

