NaPoWriMo Day 29 – Mooney-Eyed

It’s the penultimate day of NaPoWriMo! I had to share another moon poem, this one is called “Mooney-Eyed”. Hope you enjoy! 🙂

At a glance
you look flat
there’s no curves to you
whatsoever

but on closer inspection
I see shape, body
one shimmering orb
the silver apple
of my eyes,

so bright
blindingly bright
even the stars admit defeat
and take cover
beneath your dazzling glow.

I love how you rise
starting off burnt amber
and ending up this
forbidden white. . .

for nothing and no one
should ever try and be the same as you
should ever take your light and copy you

there’s only enough room in the sky
for one of you.

Tonight proves that
there’s no distractions
no clouds, no wind,
no stars, nothing

it’s just you
white versus the black
the inky blackness of night,

illuminating the skies
my whole attention
is focused on you
and you alone

you have the spotlight,
the audience

and I have the time
all the time I need
to stay here and go
mooney-eyed over you.

napo2014button1

9 Comments

  1. avian101

    So… Should we call you Moony-Rooney? I’m just kidding! I really like you poem! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL I don’t mind that nickname HJ! Thanks, glad you like it! 😀 x

      Like

  2. Bravo, very nice!

    Like

  3. Lovely poem. I’m gonna half to tell my wife to follow your blog for inspiration! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a lovely compliment, thank you! Your photography inspires me so glad I can return the favour 😀 x

      Like

  4. Another lovely poem, Becky! 🙂 I did laugh and like HJ’s comment, hee hee.

    Like

    • Thank you Donna! Ah HJ’s comment is priceless! 😀 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

