NaPoWriMo Day 26 – Them and Us

This came to me last night when I couldn’t find my keys to get into my flat. I was getting wetter and wetter the longer I searched, it’s funny how good things can come out of annoying moments like this! Hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

I stand, huddled
in the doorway of a house
curling myself over against its wooden frame
my shoulders hunched as I try
to unsuccessfully warn away the wet.

The constant quiet
the silence
except for a drip

a single
drop of water
plopping on my nose
sliding down my face.

It starts
the rain,
first one, then they all come
endless soldiers being shot down from the sky
the blackened, jet fire sky.

Such coldness they feel
marching ever onwards
dying on impact
as soon as they hit the ground. . .

SPLAT!
Each drop shattered into a thousand minute
moist flakes
dispersing wherever they land,

still they fall
on and on
more and more
the never-ending war
between them and us
the earth and sky

bullets like my questions
firing why
why
why

until they crash
and fade
and then
they die.

napo2014button1

21 Comments

  1. Charlie Alford

    I love the imagery of “soldiers being shot down from the sky” and “dying on impact”. Very well written I enjoyed this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for checking out my blog and leaving a great comment. I’ll be stopping by yours shortly! Thanks again 😀 x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice “attack” metaphor. Rain can appear friendly or unfriendly depending on our mood, can it not? Pelting bullets or soothing with angel’s tears, rain is a wondrous thing, and this is a very nice poem about it!

    Like

    • That is what I love about the rain, it can take on many different guises. This was one hell of an April shower!! Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂 x

      Like

  3. Wonderful Becky! I agree with all that Cynthia has said. You are doing so well with this one a day challenge. I wouldnt event tempt it! Id be up all night! Lol xx

    Like

    • There was one day over Easter when I suddenly realised I hadn’t updated my blog with a poem – I think I posted one about ten minutes before midnight!! Phew lol it has been a great challenge to take part in though! Thank you Christine, glad you liked this one 🙂 xx

      Like

  4. avian101

    Nice work becky! I can see that you’re on a roll, soaked with inspiration! 🙂

    Like

  5. Love the onomatopoeia, great poem 😉
    Charlotte

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! The words came as quickly as the shower 😉 lol x

      Like

  6. You gave us a great short story in a poem!

    Like

    • Thank you! It was a short, sharp shower that inspired this piece 🙂 x

      Like

      • We’ll take our inspiration where’er we get it, eh?

        Liked by 1 person

      • My thoughts exactly! 😀 x

        Like

  7. Lovely poem Becky. Did you find your keys? I hope you had a hot chocolate and warmed yourself up after your experience. It reminds me about when I was walking about in the dark and the rain, tired and hungry, looking for my car as I had forgotten where I had parked it!
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did – I was convinced I had them in my handbag only to discover them in the footwell of my car! Hot chocolate and soup did the trick 🙂 I often forget where I have parked my car and that is when it’s daylight!! Thank you for the read and comment 🙂 x

      Like

  8. Another lovely poem Becky, with great imagery. It starts gently, then becomes more solemn and powerful, saying something in th end about the human condition, and the stanzas themselves fall like drops of rain down the page. 🙂 x

    Like

  9. Oh, one more point – when we have to write a poem every day, I think we view the world differently – in the same way when we set out with a camera. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much Derek, for your insightful comments. Looking at the world and seeing something new to write about every day has started to become habit over this past month – one I won’t be trying to break! I appreciate you reading and commenting 🙂 x

      Like

  10. Hey BeckaR! You did it again…loved the imagery…and I confess – I love the rain! I wouldn’t have minded getting wet…looking for me keys or not…just another reason to get inspired – or get wet! 🙂

    Like

    • Maybe I subconsciously forgot my keys just so I could get inspired. . . who knows! It’s great when little things like this trigger off a poem 🙂 thank you for reading and commenting! x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

