NaPoWriMo Day 25 – With You

I know I’ve been inundating you all with romantic poems recently but I can’t help it – I’m feeling the love at the moment! πŸ˜€

I know every line
every furrow
every single indentation
in your perfect
soft face.

The strong outline
of your nose
angled and arched
when on profile

your high cheekbones
in symmetry with your ears
becoming even higher
when you smile
that killer smile. . .

Showing your diamond white teeth
in little rows
kept safe by your lips
almost heart-shaped,

when you see them
unaware
slightly curling over each other
they’re just begging
to be stroked.

Your hair
shining with all the colours
of the night,

not quite hiding your matching
well defined eyebrows
as they slant
nearly meeting in the middle
framing your eyes,
your gorgeous
heart-stopping
work of art eyes.

They’re the deepest, nutty brown
there ever could be
as dark as freshly watered earth
as creamy as home-made hot chocolate
and equally as frothy,

warm, gentle
sparkling
with swirls of caramel
the same hazel tone as your skin

how come there’s so much to be said
about your twin
chocolate drop eyes?

With a pitter patter of crow’s feet
which erupt when you laugh,
setting alight a haze of golden pinpricks
blazing and dazzling
just like there’s a fire dancing inside,

flames twinkling
burning
and melting,
melting me.

I only have to look
and I’m lost
lost with no possible
hope of return,

but if I could choose
somewhere to languish forever
then there’s no other place
I would ever wish to be

no where in the world
I’d ever be safer,
no where else imaginable
I’d ever feel so alive,

to be with you
and only you
it always has
and always will be
you.

napo2014button1

12 Comments

  1. avian101

    He must be singing “I got you babe” song by Cher! Love…oh-la-la! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ooh I’ve got that song in my head now!! Definitely an oh-la-la moment πŸ˜‰ x

      Like

  2. Oh my goodness, so many wonderful phrases that take us away in love!

    Like

    • Thanks so much! Even though this is a personal write to me and the person I wrote it for I hope it can translate to anyone who has been in love or is still in love. Thank you again! πŸ˜€ x

      Like

  3. It speaks to love and chemistry and adoration. Charming!

    Like

  4. Beautiful again!

    Like

  5. BeckaR…LOVEly:) I love love and the feeling it brings. I hope the object of your affection is touched and honored by the time and love you labor after/for him. So wonderfully ‘felt’ and conveyed…sounds like a good looking guy seen through the eyes of love! Love on! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I am a hopeless romantic at heart, it doesn’t take much for someone to bring it out of me πŸ˜‰ exactly, love on! πŸ˜€ x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

