NaPoWriMo Day 20 – Waves of Time

The thing I miss the most about living in Cornwall is the sea. Until I moved to Hertfordshire I didn’t realise how lucky I was to have a beach on my doorstep – one of the first things I did when I went home for the Easter holidays was have a paddle in the sea! This poem is called “Waves of Time”, I hope you enjoy the read – and Happy Easter! 🙂

It always brings me back

draws my gaze unlike any other,

piercing, captivating my mind

right between the eyes.

Blowing past the insignificance

teasing me inward,

knowing I’ll come calling

when all I can see

is it.

I stiffen my back to the slaughtering gale

a stone wall undefeated,

it traps itself in my mind

it won’t let go

forcing itself upon every corner

battling my wits, I unwillingly struggle

but don’t let go,

I see the world

and I, so small

a single grain of sand

lost within a beach.

This sea right here

howling my name

its hypnotic feel

spellbinding touch,

here I stand, amidst its isolation

and I hear it call again,

feeding off the loneliness

thoughts of trickery abound

stealing not only a mind, a heart,

but my smile brings a welcome sound

as I taste victory mingled with brine….

its echo carried forever

on the waves of time.

napo2014button1

2 Comments

  1. avian101

    Very nice work Becky! I know the feeling, I miss the sea also. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you HJ! Glad you could relate to this one 🙂 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

