NaPoWriMo Day 15 – Never Before

I’m at home in Cornwall for the Easter week, I forgot how much wetter the weather is in the south west compared to Hertfordshire! It inspired this poem, for day 15 of NaPoWriMo this is “Never Before”. 🙂

Rain shooting down

being spat from the sky

spittle flying from a pair of furious lips

thunder tumbling round

as a war-raging cry

the earth erupting

as if battling with itself

I’ve never heard it roar

with passion

with power

I’ve never felt the air shake

tremble with fury before

I’ve never tasted the foam from its mouth

I’ve never seen it tear up the landscape

or seen the winds slash and soar

I’ve never stood still

in the middle of a storm

out of sheer awe

I’ve never seen it look

so dangerous

so beautiful

I never thought

it could open my eyes so wide

I never imagined

I’d see the world like this

so alive.

napo2014button1

2 Comments

  1. avian101

    I’m going to buy an umbrella just in case! Wow! Thanks Becky! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s better to be safe than sorry when these April showers are around! Thanks HJ! 😀 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

