NaPoWriMo Day 14 – If Only

The inspiration behind this poem wasn’t just the moon for a change(!) it was the night itself. I hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

It makes my knees buckle

from underneath me

if only I could

capture this air

this startling, night air

and stopper it up

full in my lungs

forever.

It makes my heart stop beating

and gasp

if only I could

steal the stars straight from the sky

they have the same sparkle in them

as your eyes.

It makes my mind freeze

in awe

if only I could

take the lunar light

pour it into a cup then drink

and down every last drop.

It makes me listen

to sounds which I can’t hear

and it makes me feel

things which I thought weren’t there. . .

If only I could

hug the night

squeeze it, hold it tight,

if only I could

go to sleep on a cloud

and wake up gazing far beyond

what I thought I could see

if only. . .

If only everyone knew

the world is so much more

than anyone imagines it to be.

napo2014button1

4 Comments

  1. avian101

    It’s good to hear beautiful word about the night, most people fear the night have you noticed that? “Night is just the beautiful day that went to sleep”- HJ
    Very nice poem Becky! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a wonderful way of wording it HJ! Thank you for such a great comment 😀 x

      Like

  2. Absolutely gorgeous Becky xx

    Like

What are your thoughts?

