NaPoWriMo Day 13 – Between Seasons

For day 13 here is a poem about the joys of spring – enjoy! 🙂

Don’t you just love
the transition between seasons
when you start to spot
the subtle changes in the air,

from the moment I see
bright green buds
studding every branch

to little catkins lining them underneath
dreadlocks swaying in a soft breeze,

and little crocus heads
peeping out above the ground
like this is the first breath they’ve taken
since winter began

I know spring
is right around the corner. . .

Suddenly I’m hit
a slap in the face
I’ve been woken up from the zombie slumber
the cold months put me in

and now I’m viewing the world in HD
everything in high definition
from the second I step outside
colours seem to pop at me,

jewel tones a blaze, the sapphire sky
and emerald leaves adorning every tree

with the sun the fieriest red
I’ve ever seen

surely if rubies could bleed
this is what they would look like.

It stains my room every morning
seeping through windows, invading my dreams
shaking away sleep,

it’s as if in every way imaginable
nature is screaming at me
saying wake up, look up
take notice of me. . .

don’t worry, I say outloud
you’ve got my attention
and always will,

I see the beauty every day
your beauty,
my beauty,
the beauty of the world.

napo2014button1

4 Comments

  1. Lovely Becky. ‘If rubies could bleed’ ….love it! 🙂 I hope you have a good Sunday. We’re off to the Queen Mum’s open garden at St. Paul’s Walden for a walk and tea of course! X

    Like

    • Thank you! I had a great Sunday, I’m back home on holiday for the Easter week so am having a lovely time – the weather is beautiful and sunny! It sounds like you had a great weekend, hope the rest of your week is the same 😀 x

      Like

  2. avian101

    Nice Becky! Enjoy your precious Spring! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you HJ! I am enjoying it immensely 😀 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

