NaPoWriMo Day 8 – There’s Just Something

Day 8 of NaPoWriMo, we’re over a week in wooh wooh!! Here is a poem inspired by the moon, of course. . . who else?! šŸ˜‰

There’s something about watching
the moon slowly waxing
it’s like a flower blossoming
night after night,

until he’s fully open
the centre of the sky
polished and shining
a pure white rose,

if only I could stand on tiptoe
pluck him from the air,
inhale his deep, rich scent
a fragrance like no other.

How he consumes my heart, my mind
I have no idea,
there’s something
just something about him. . .

napo2014button1

7 Comments

  1. I find it interesting that you address the moon as a “he” and not a “she”……but my grand mother used to sing a song when we were out on the lake in a canoe at night:
    “O mister moon, up in the sky,
    Won’t you tell me the reason why
    You shine so bright, when he and I
    Would rather you would hide your face
    And let the clouds roll by.”

    When she and my grandad were “courting” around World War I, young couples weren’t allowed much privacy….even the moonlight felt like a chaperone!

    Like

    • What a lovely song, thank you for sharing that memory šŸ™‚ I’ve always thought of the moon as a “he” and the sun as a “she” – he makes a good chaperone! Thanks for the read and comment x

      Like

  2. avian101

    Lunar magical fragrance! Nice! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely Becky. I love the moon! šŸ™‚

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. #NaPoWriMo: Day 8 – Take 2 | Two Voices, One Song

What are your thoughts?

