NaPoWriMo Day 7 – Freedom

I wrote this yesterday, just before the heavens opened! Hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

I saw the sky last night

hanging heavy, pregnant

with rain

I saw the clouds

tightly poised, as if ready

to give birth

I felt the coyness

in the air, arousing

awakening my senses

I felt the moistness

free the clagginess from my tongue

I tasted the night

and it was sensational

I stood still and watched

as the sky split in half

and it rained

and rained

and rained

I felt the spring storm

free the earth from itself

I felt every tapping raindrop

as the beat of a drum

I was struck by the sound

it hit me from above

it broke my breath

and cast me aside

as if I was a mere nothing

as if daring me

to challenge it

and I did

oh, I so did

it threw lightning

and I caught the spear in my eyes

it screamed thunder

and I held the roar in my ears

it cried rain

and I let it flood my soul

it lifted me up

and tore me apart

it freed me

from myself

I took the feeling

and I soared. . .

I am flying

I am free.

napo2014button1

12 Comments

  1. And to think how some people run for cover the minute they feel a drop!

    Like

    • Haha not me, I love a good storm! Thanks for your comment 😀 x

      Like

  2. avian101

    I was awaken by a storm last night and It rained and rained, it’s noon and hasn’t stop yet! Your poem fits perfectly to my circumstances! What a coincidence!
    Nice work Becky! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a great coincidence – perfect timing! I’m glad you could relate to this one HJ, thank you 🙂 x

      Like

  3. Very descriptive! I could feel the rain and the sounds as I read!! Fantastic!

    Like

    • That’s what I was aiming for! Thank you for the read and comment 😀 x

      Like

  4. Beautiful images Becky, and a lovely rhythm that captures that of the falling rain. You were wholly present there and conveyed this to us. I’m pleased you are taking the NaPoWriMo challenge too! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you very much! I’m glad you liked it 🙂 roll on the rest of NaPoWriMo! x

      Like

  5. Oh Becky! I just adore this poem!! You have totally spoken about the title and content of a collection of poems I am putting together to publish, hopefully, in a few months time. I wont mention the title here because I havent really told anyone about it yet, apart from a friend who is designing the front cover. 😊😊 xx

    Like

    • Another coincidence! How exciting to be getting your poems published, I bet you can’t wait 😀 thank you Christine, pleased you liked this one! xx

      Like

  6. You’ve got such a talent for poetry!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! That compliment means a lot 😀 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

