NaPoWriMo Day 6 – Cherry Tree

For day 6 here is a poem about my favourite spring blossom, the flowering cherry tree (Prunus). I have dozens of photos of cherry blossom on my other blog, feel free to click here and check it out! I hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

It makes me think of love

I can almost see couples frolicking
underneath its outstretched boughs
adorned in an innocence
pure, virginal white.

I see weddings
falling blossom the pieces of confetti
thrown over a bride and groom.

From a distance
it’s one mass of white
I can almost mistake it
for the clouds in the sky

lighter than the breath of a baby
it’s the silent beauty
of spring,

with blossom like flakes
of softly falling snow
floating delicately in the breeze.

I feel romance
lying here beneath its canopy. . .

if I close my eyes
I feel petals land on my cheek
as soft as kisses
from an angel.

I lose myself
in its serenity and harmony
I am calm, content
this is where I long to be
forever at peace
beneath this cherry tree.

napo2014button1

8 Comments

  1. I once had a tree just like that outside my window, by the sea. Your poem brought it back for me, though I live among mountains now, and have no such tree. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad this brought back good memories for you 🙂 x

      Like

  2. avian101

    Your poem is quite romantic! I lighted it very much. 🙂

    Like

    • Cherry trees bring out the hidden romantic in me! Thank you HJ 🙂 x

      Like

  3. Absolutely enchanting BeckaR! I feel love in the air…and I so LOVE cherry blossoms…you took me back for a moment, under its branches. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you very much, for your lovely comment 😀 I just love cherry blossom too! x

      Like

  4. I love your ‘angel kisses’ Becky, so beautiful! 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I imagine angel kisses to be as light as falling blossom 😀 xx

      Like

What are your thoughts?

