NaPoWriMo Day 5 – Memories

I was a bit stuck for inspiration today until I caught the aroma of just-cut grass wafting through my window. . . and this was the result! For day 5 here is a poem called “Memories”. 🙂

Sitting here
behind my desk
on my swivel chair
with the squeaky wheels,

a breeze blowing through
the half open window
bringing with it the scent
of freshly mown grass
from some fields far away. . .

It’s the aroma of my dad
at the weekend
when he’s home from work
without his suit and tie
taking out the mower and is away,
I’d be out helping him
wheeling barrows to and fro
sometimes until twilight set in
and we’d finally stop
watch the sun set
and do it all over again
the next day. . .

I remember how happy he looked
both of us tired
but happy,
his arm round my shoulder
me holding his hand,
I remember looking up and seeing
the smile on his face
lighting up the darkness
more than the stars themselves
he was so content and at peace
I’ve never forgotten
that moment.

When I’m behind my desk
and can’t think what to write about
it doesn’t take much
for a trigger to come along

stirring memories
until I’m there
remembering, living them
all over again.

napo2014button1

10 Comments

  1. avian101

    Very nicely done! Any simple day could turn out to be a great memorable day when you’re open to it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Aw, that’s sweet, love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely brilliant Becky! I can smell all the air and the grass and feel all the emotons! What a fantasic memory to hold onto. 😊 Xx

    Like

    • Thank you Christine 😀 it’s one of those memories I never forget, especially in summer time xx

      Like

  4. Great work! Well done!

    Like

  5. Beautifully expression of a very touching and poignant emotion! The power of aroma as a powerful trigger of memory is often understated, especially since we now live in an increasingly detached auditory-visual world..

    Like

    • Thank you for reading and commenting! I’m glad you liked this piece, I wasn’t sure if many people would “get it”.
      Whenever I have a bit of writer’s block I find listening to one of my five senses usually inspires me 🙂 Thanks again! x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

