NaPoWriMo Day 3 – Life

For day 3 this is a poem I wrote without really thinking about it – it’s not often that happens! It’s called “Life”, I hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

Sometimes it’s too much
life gets too hectic
I’m on a whirlwind
a roller-coaster I can’t escape,

constantly in a tail spin
only worrying about going
from one thing to the next
that I forget to look
damn it, I even forget to breathe,

I look all round me
but I don’t see,
fatigue stifles my imagination
and kills all creativity.

Which is ridiculous
when there’s inspiration in front of me
every time I open my eyes,

shouts of reality drag me away
from the whispers of my mind

sometimes it’s good to listen
to those little voices in your head
and I don’t just mean
the ones that tell you to eat chocolate. . .

I forget everything has a voice
some are simply quieter than others,
everyone needs time
to stop, relax
and breathe
to close your eyes
and just be.

I’ve said it once
but I’ll say it again
all the small things
make up the best thing of all

they make life
something worth living for.

napo2014button1

6 Comments

  1. avian101

    You’ve just described life perfectly! “All great things always start small” and applies to everything we know. Good work Becky! 🙂

    Like

    • It really does, I’m glad you could see that! Thank you HJ 😀 x

      Like

  2. Brilliant Becky! I think this is a spiral we can all get into. And you ended it with a beautiful truth. Great poem! 😊 Xx

    Like

    • Thank you Christine, I knew you would get this one! 🙂 xx

      Like

  3. Beautiful Becky! Sounds so familiar… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Donna! Something we can all relate to, for sure 🙂 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

