NaPoWriMo Day 1 – I Love the Night

1st April is not just April Fool’s Day, it is also the start of National Poetry Writing Month – aka NaPoWriMo!

I joined in halfway through April last year, however this time I am fully committed from the beginning! Anyone can take part in NaPoWriMo, let me know if you are. πŸ™‚

napo2014button1

For day 1 this is a piece called β€œI Love the Night” inspired by the moon, of course! I hope you enjoy.

Everything looks different at night

no harsh sunlight

just soft shadows

the landscape moon-kissed

whole night as still as can be

the sea opaque, a mirror

reflecting my soul back at me.

Moonlight skims the waves

kissing the foam on the sand

like diamonds are scattered across the surface

sparkling, dazzling,

if only I could be the sea

and absorb the moonlight

suck it all in

inhale and keep this energy inside me

forever.

Forget wearing my heart on my sleeve

I wear it in the sky

the moon has the same beat as me

and the same light as my eyes,

he’s the reason I love

why I love the night

why I love every single thing. . .

oh how I love living

how I love life.

4 Comments

  1. Beautiful tribute to the moon. Now I look forward to experiencing the moon in this way.

    Like

    • Thank you very much! Every time I look at the moon I see him in a new way πŸ™‚ x

      Like

  2. avian101

    Nice start Becky! Your favorite subjects: The Moon and Love
    Today’s my favorite composer’s and pianist birthday anniversary: Sergei Rachmaninoff! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Exactly HJ! I know a few Sergei Rachmaninoff pieces, they are beautiful. Thank you for reading and commenting πŸ˜€ x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

