With Love

I wrote this after seeing the moon for the first time in what felt like forever! It’s called “With Love” I hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

I haven’t seen the moon

for so long

he’s my companion

missed. . .

there’s been too much rain

dampening my spirits

blocking him out

but not tonight

no, tonight the sky is his

here he comes

tunnelling a hole through the clouds

shining with the fullest, purest glow

the night-light of the world.

His face

rounder than a dinner plate

even the stars look puckered up

as if ready to kiss him

and who could blame them

I can’t think of anything better

than feasting upon the moon with my eyes. . .

He’s a bowl to catch my tears

before I can blink they’ve been wiped away

by his silver hand,

it’s a wonder the sky can hold him

for he’s spilling

spilling over the edge with love.

Looking at him behind a window is not enough

I need to bathe in his light

feel him on my flesh

for only when I see him hanging

a pendant

round the neck of the world

do I feel calm

content

comforted,

the sky could be bare

with not a flicker of light,

yet it will never be empty

it is always filled

with him, with life

with love.

14 Comments

  1. avian101

    Moon struck? That’s amore! 🙂

    Like

    • Ah you know me HJ, I love a bit of amore! 🙂 x

      Like

  2. Loved the part about the stars looking “puckered up”. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! One of those thoughts that just came to me 🙂 glad you enjoyed it! x

      Like

  3. Wow Becky this is gorgeous! So many words and phrases to linger over. “tunelling a hole through the clouds” and “stars look puckered up” and reference to a pendant. So many more too, !just lovely 😊 xx

    Like

    • Thanks so much Christine 😀 I’ve had a bit of writer’s block on the poetry side lately, it feels good to have written something again – if the moon didn’t inspire me then nothing would! Thanks for the read and comment 🙂 x

      Like

      • The moon always seems to inspire you! 😊 Xx I love how you observe and write how things feel xx

        Like

      • Ah he always does! I love sitting and just observing the world, it’s a good way to relax. 🙂 xx

        Like

  4. This is lovely, I love the idea of bathing in moonlight and finding peace. 🙂 You are a romantic, Becky. I like that about you. Warmly, Brenda

    Like

    • Thanks very much Brenda! I am a hopeless romantic at heart, I’ll always be in love with nature 😀 x

      Like

      • Me, too. The most constant lover, after all.

        Like

      • Exactly! Unconditional love 🙂 x

        Like

  5. very visual and romantic Becky. It is a lovely story. -:)

    Like

What are your thoughts?

