A Little Bit of Jack

This is a poem I wrote last week, when I was having a ramble around Ashridge on the most perfect frosty morning. I hope you enjoy my ode to Jack! πŸ˜‰

Jack was out last night

creating his white magic

waving his wand

over the landscape,

icicles cling

to every surface

highlighting every vein

on every leaf

of every tree

he ran his fingers through

every blade of grass

each one as hard and stiff

as hair which has been gelled

into a thousand spikes.

The world is quiet

the only thing I can hear

is the crunch and crackle

of my footsteps on the ground,

it feels like he froze

time itself.

Even the most barren of sights

now appear beautiful,

it’s incredible what a little bit of Jack

can do. . .

16 Comments

  1. avian101

    Good work Becky! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Oh Becka, that was brilliant! At first I wondered, who is Jack? Will I be able to figure it out? Well as soon as I started reading, there was no doubt as your wonderful poem was such a vibrant portrait of the mystical character himself. We are having a very unusual February with sunshine and it is in the 60’s! No Jack here at the moment! πŸ™‚ x

    Like

    • Ah I’m glad you could work it out Lea, he certainly puts the magic into winter πŸ™‚ Although I wouldn’t say no to some of your sunshine at the moment! Thank you for reading and commenting x

      Like

  3. This is just wonderful Becky! I love these poems of yours that come out of your walks out and about, just beautiful. Jack is very talented! 😊 Xxx

    Like

    • I’m glad you liked it Christine, poems like this just come out of nowhere. Nature is a constant inspiration πŸ™‚ thank you! πŸ˜€ xxx

      Like

  4. Mirada

    Hi Becka–Christine has eagerly introduced me to your blog, which is gorgeous and lovely, and also sent me your photo of birch trees to work up a poem for you. It’s now on my to-do list, so we’ll see what happens–no guarantees, but I can usually do “somethin'”. I’m glad to “meet” you! Mirada

    Like

    • It’s nice to meet you too Mirada! Thank you for the lovely comments you’ve made on my posts, I’ve started following your blog and am looking forward to reading more of your poetry πŸ™‚ hopefully the birch trees will inspire you! x

      Like

      • Mirada

        I will credit and link back to you as soon as I “get the poem”–we have snow as of last evening, so I might be able to work on poetry this afternoon. I thoroughly enjoy doing collaborations, so I’m sure the birch trees will produce something! See you later.

        Like

      • I’d be happy to do another collaboration if you see any other photos on my blog that you like – the birch trees poem was a delight to read. πŸ™‚ x

        Like

  5. Wonderful poem Becky! And I love your last photo, simple and beautiful! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you πŸ˜€ I couldn’t decide which photo to use so I ended up including both! x

      Like

  6. Beautiful pictures and words. Love how you brought them together.

    Like

  7. A reciprocal visit. It has been a while since i was here last and your blog has come on in leaps and bounds. Your passion for nature shines through and your photographs are spot-on. Great stuff! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comment! I don’t always have time to update my blog as much as I would like to but it’s comments like yours that make it worth while. I appreciate you visiting again, thank you πŸ˜€ x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

