Little Rocking Robin

This is a quick poem I wrote called “Little Rocking Robin”, about a friendly robin who always hangs around outside my flat. This morning he even stood still long enough for me to get a photo! I hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

Even when it’s icy outside

even when it’s colder than the north pole

it keeps me warm

the sight of blue-tits and thrushes

plumping out their feathers

until they’ve doubled in size,

still chirping a cheery song

despite the bitterness

letting your heart lift

leaving a smile to rise,

then I see my robin

my little rocking robin

doing his trademark tap dance

all over the roof, and along the wall

his red breast a fire bursting

cosy and sweet

so full of happiness he can’t help

but jiggle his tiny feet,

then he starts flying in a circle

too full of joy to keep still

little rocking robin, you’re welcome any time

to come dance on my window sill!

10 Comments

  1. avian101

    Thanks Becky for writing a poem of a bird! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you HJ 😀 I did think of you when I posted this poem, I’m very glad you like it! x

      Like

  2. Oh Becky, what a gorgeous photo of a beautiful little rocking robin! And I love the poem! You write what you see and feel and do it so well.

    Love
    xxx

    Like

    • He is a real cutie, I wish you could see him doing a live performance!! Thank you Christine, hugs! 🙂 xx

      Like

  3. I had never gotten just how well robins can rock until I read this. Thanks for cheering up my day.

    Like

    • Thank you for cheering up my day, with your lovely comment! Glad it gave you a smile 🙂 x

      Like

  4. You’ve captured the character of your rocking robin beautifully. He looks so cheeky! I love the photo too!

    Like

    • He is a proper character! I love seeing him, he brightens up my day no end 😀 thank you for reading and commenting, I was lucky to get a shot of him! x

      Like

  5. A perfect photo for a perfect poem, well done again Becky! He is a cutie….

    Like

    • Thank you Donna! He is so cute, and a natural model too! 😀 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

