A Morning Delight

This morning was such a gorgeous sunrise, I couldn’t help writing a poem to complement it – this was before I had had any breakfast, just in case you were wondering! I hope you enjoy. 🙂

20131205_074557 Crop

I’m hungry

just looking at it. . .

rashers of bacon

streaking the sky

a crisp edged horizon

much like the crust

on toast,

and oh

the sun,

that slowly rising sun

oozing golden yolk

and dripping yellow butter

I can’t stop my tongue

reaching out and

licking the air

where my fried egg should be,

and I can’t help

feeling this morning

filling my heart

and delighting

just delighting me.

25 Comments

  1. I love mornings like this when I am fishing, or playing golf 🙂

    Like

    • Me too! I’m lucky enough to start work just as the sun is rising 😀 thanks for stopping by and commenting x

      Like

  2. avian101

    This poem would make a good breakfast TV add! Good work Becky! 🙂

    Like

    • Haha it would be a great advert for a healthy breakfast 😉 thanks HJ! 😀 x

      Like

  3. I’m vegetarian but the imagery is great Becky. Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Thank you! I’ll have to write a vegetarian version lol happy new year! 🙂 x

      Like

  4. That was a joy to read. Did you really eat all that? LOL

    Like

    • Of course! We gardeners burn a lot of energy teehee glad you enjoyed it! Thanks Brenda 😀 x

      Like

      • Oh, now I’m jealous! I walked for an hour in the cold, but that can’t compete with a day spent working outdoors. Your sunset is still ringing me joy, filling my mind with bacon in the sky. 🙂

        Like

      • I can’t imagine not working outside on a daily basis, I would go stir crazy if I had an office job! Thank you again 😀 x

        Like

  5. Delicious poem 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! It was a delicious sunrise 🙂 x

      Like

  6. Initiator ;-)

    Got a beautiful Morning…!

    Like

    • It was, very beautiful! Thanks for the read and comment x

      Like

      • Initiator ;-)

        you are very welcome..!

        Like

      • 😀 x

        Like

  7. Brilliant Becka! I really love it and the photo is beautiful!

    Like

    • Thank you Lea, I’m glad you like it! 🙂 x

      Like

  8. What a gorgeous photo Becky! This is the third photo I have seen this week of a sunrise posted by blogging friends. Its certainly helping to lift me out of my January blues, which have hit hard this year. And the poem is an absolute delightful accompaniment! 😄 xx

    Like

    • It’s winter mornings like this which banish my January blues, I’m glad it could help yours too Christine 🙂 thank you for commenting! Xx

      Like

  9. Beautiful words and beautiful photo Becky!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

