It’s Christmaaas!

This month has gone so quickly, I can’t believe it’s Christmas in less than a week. Life has been full of activity, as the saying goes, time flies when you’re having fun!

I’ve been in London to see the Christmas lights round Oxford Circus, Regent’s Street and Covent Garden as well as having a look at the window displays in Selfridges and John Lewis. My favourite part was seeing the Norwegian tree in Trafalgar Square of course, I’ve never seen it up close before and it was just magical. It was as tall as my house!!

Oxford Circus

Oxford Circus

John Lewis window displays

John Lewis window display

John Lewis window display

Selfridges!

Selfridges!

Selfridges window displays

Selfridges window displays

Selfridges window displays

Covent Garden Christmas tree

Covent Garden Christmas tree

Giant robins!

Giant robins!

Snowflakes!

Snowflakes!

Me with a snowman!

Me with a snowman!

Trafalgar Square Christmas tree 

Trafalgar Square Christmas tree

I also went to Kew to see the illuminated trail they have around the gardens at Christmas time. It was stunning, there were Chinese lanterns strung along the pathways, the trees were lit up with different coloured spotlights, there was even a ring of fire! I loved the fake lotus flower that was hanging from the ceiling of the Waterlily House, and the Palmhouse when it lit up and flashed shades of blues, reds and pinks. It was like a disco!

Chinese lantern

Chinese lantern

More lanterns along the lake

More lanterns along the lake

Green bamboo!

Green bamboo!

Rainbow trees!

Rainbow trees!

Rainbow trees!

Ring of fire

Ring of fire

A tree and the moon!

Tree and the moon!

Lotus flower in the Waterlily House

The Palmhouse!

20131212_192211

20131212_192119

20131212_192854

I visited Waddesdon Manor in Buckinghamshire where they had a special display of light around the gardens too, six light installations that were created by Bruce Munro. The displays were unique, there was one called “Parliament of Owls” it really looked like there were a hundred owls staring at you with big glowing eyes!

Waddesdon Manor

20131206_175130

Christmas trees!

20131206_180618

The Parliament of Owls!

20131206_185137

Another light installation

20131206_184331

There has been so many festivities to get involved with at work, at the start of the month me and the team had the tricky task of putting up two 14 foot high Christmas trees in Ashridge House. It was an interesting experience, everyone knew what they were doing apart from me – the biggest tree I’ve ever put up is a 5 foot one at home!!

Before. . .

20131202_130139

. . .and after!

20131205_101448

The garden team at Ashridge hold an event every year in December, called Santa’s Grotto. Basically we go mad and decorate Repton’s Arbour in the arboretum, with garlands, wreaths, fresh foliage, and tons of fairy lights and presents (a whole morning was spent wrapped empty cardboard boxes with Christmas paper!).

Repton’s Arbour, turned into Santa’s Grotto!

20131215_134517

Santa Claus!

20131215_144915

Then we get together and dress up as elves, with another person as Santa Claus, and we spend an afternoon taking children up to see Santa. It rained on us this year but it didn’t dampen our spirits – the kids were adorable, it was such a rewarding experience. I genuinely enjoyed being an elf!

Me as an elf!

20131215_171645

We went out as a team for a Christmas meal at a lovely restaurant in Berkhamsted last week, it was a three course meal all paid for by Ashridge. You can’t beat free food! The night was great, it was fun just having a laugh with my colleagues outside of work, definitely a night to remember.

Group shot!

20131213_201316

I’ve just about had time to decorate my flat here in Hertfordshire, with two delightfully tacky fake trees – one is black, the other pink! Christmas doesn’t get any better than this! I’ve also spent time making Christmas cards for my close family and friends, listening to Christmas songs at the same time of course!

My Christmas trees!

20131202_192726

20131202_192737

I have a fortnight off for Christmas which I will spend at home in Devon, it’s going to be wonderful to relax and catch up with people I haven’t seen since I started my new job. Being so far away from the ones I love makes me appreciate every moment I spend with them, I can’t wait to see everyone in a few days time. In the words of Chris Rea, I’ll soon be driving home for Christmas! 😀

My hand made Christmas cards

20131128_195842

10 Comments

  1. avian101

    Very nice display of decorations! You look happy and radiant Becky! I wish you have Happy Holidays! 🙂

    Like

    • Ah I am happy HJ! Thank you for reading and commenting, always 😀 x

      Like

  2. Wow Becky what orgeous photos! And you make a vey impresive elf!

    I was watching last week, an episode of Flog It, the antiques programme, and it was being filmed at Ashridge Estate; people brought their items to the house to have them valued for auction. My ears pricked up immediately!

    Have a lovely Christmas with your family including all those wonderful kitties!
    🎄
    😊Xx

    Like

    • Yes I heard about that, my mum saw that episode of Flog It too! Thank you for your lovely comment Christine, I hope you had a great Christmas too. Happy new year! 😀 xx

      Like

  3. Now I’m in the Christmas spirit!

    Like

    • I’m glad!! Thanks for the comment! and happy new year 🙂 x

      Like

  4. Gorgeous, how did I miss these. Your trees were all super. 🙂 I’ve enjoyed catching up some more. Cheers, Brenda

    Like

    • Thanks Brenda! My favourite thing about Christmas is the trees, of course 😀 x

      Like

      • Trees are right up there for me, too. I also like the lights, the chocolate, the presents, the decorations some of the music, watching my kids open their presents. Sigh of pleasure. I’m a little kid at heart.

        Like

      • Ah I’m with you there, there’s so much to love about Christmas – it’s a time of year to treasure 🙂 x

        Like

What are your thoughts?

