Last Touch of Autumn

Here is a collection of photos from the past few weeks at Ashridge, I can’t believe December is here already! A few trees are still hanging onto the last touches of autumn, it feels like winter is creeping ever closer though. I hope you enjoy the shots! 🙂

Trees in the arboretum at Ashridge

Trees in the arboretum at Ashridge

Trees in the arboretum at Ashridge

Trees in the arboretum at Ashridge

Ashridge House and Chapel

Ashridge House and Chapel

Liquidambar styraciflua

Liquidambar styraciflua

Cotoneaster shrub

Cotoneaster shrub

Beech trees in the arboretum

Beech trees (Fagus sylvatica) in the arboretum

Beech trees (Fagus sylvatica) in the arboretum

First frost!

First frost!

11 Comments

  1. avian101

    Very nice captures Becky! 🙂

    Like

  2. A beautiful memory of our colourful autumn. Thank you 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! Autumn this year was stunning, it was a pleasure being able to capture these shots 🙂 x

      Like

  3. Gorgeous photos Becky! I love them all but as usual I play my little game of favourites! This time Im allowed ro pick two qnd they are the cotoneaster shrub (we have one in our garden) and the fourth photo from the fop. I just love the contast of autumn yellow with the vibrant blue background! Stunning!

    Xx😊

    Like

    • Ah I’m glad you have your favourites, I love the beech leaves against the sky too – one of the best trees for autumn colour, they’re just as stunning as liquidambar I think! Thank you Christine, pleased you enjoyed the photos 🙂 xx

      Like

  4. I loved your autumn photographs, but it’s kind of amazing comparing the weather between our two countries. I live about 10 degrees of latitude farther south than you, but it is snowy and wintry looking here. I guess the Gulf stream really does make a huge difference.

    Like

    • I’d love to come out and live in a different country, just to compare the plants and general nature and weather patterns – it would be fascinating! Thank you Deb, very glad you like the photos 😀 x

      Like

  5. Lovely images Becka.. While looking at these images I can’t believe how quickly time passes.. I feel like it was a few days ago when I was out taking photographs of Autumns changes. Over the past week we have had two mini snow storms so now all I see is white and shades of grey :-).

    I too hope that one day I can visit your country one day. Europe has such a deeper known history than what we have here in the states. My grandmother while living in England had visited Cornwall in her younger days and her families home in Swansea. I have a few photographs of Cornwall taken in the early seventies from her travels. I hope to one day be able to visit and show my children that side of their ancestry.

    Like

    • I know exactly what you mean, it seems like yesterday the trees were bursting with colour and now they are stripped bare. I’ve come to realise how lucky I am to live and have grown up in England, like you say it has such a deep history – I am proud to be British! I hope you do get the chance to show your kids their ancestry one day 🙂
      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment, I appreciate it 😀 x

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Last Touch of Autumn | Life of a Plant Lover

What are your thoughts?

