Our Soldiers – Remembrance Day

This is a poem for Remembrance Day, to honour our soldiers – may we always remember them.

Remembrance Day quote

I look at the leaves

on all the trees

stained scarlet red

then I look down

at the ground

and see them brown and dead.

I think of our soldiers

fighting for us

all day, every day

with no rest until there’s peace

I remember my family

the members I lost

among the brave and fallen

now in an eternal sleep.

I think of the ones I don’t know

and the ones I do

more of them dead than alive

it’s sad but true.

Today is the day we remember

the day we all unite

in remembrance of our soldiers

to mark their plight.

Today is the day we come together

our silence proud and strong

as we think of our soldiers

our thoughts and feelings as one.

Today is the day I close my eyes

and let my prayers be known

for our soldiers fallen but not forgotten

and the ones who will someday be marching home.

Our love and faith will never wane

for as long as we live, for as long as they die

in our memories they will remain

in our hearts they will stay alive.

6 Comments

  1. avian101

    My deep respect to all of them, true heroes, I thank them, G-d bless their souls!

    Like

    • My thoughts exactly, they are true heroes. Thank you HJ πŸ˜€ x

      Like

  2. Beautiul tribute Becky. Thank you for sharing this lovely thoughtful poem xx

    Like

    • Thank you Christine, always – your comment means a lot πŸ™‚ xX

      Like

  3. What a tribute ! Lovely poetry.

    Like

    • Thanks so much! Glad you liked it πŸ™‚ x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

