Why I Love Autumn

Today was a typical autumnal day – cold, crisp and sunny. This poem was inspired by a certain area at Ashridge, the Lazell Garden, which is full of beautiful Acer trees. I took a few shots and wrote this piece “Why I LoveAutumn” shortly after – I hope you enjoy the read. 🙂

Acer trees

Fallen leaves flutter down

a deep scarlet red

so vibrant, so vivid

I half-expect to see a phoenix

rise straight out of them,

it causes me to look up

and see a slice of bright blue sky

a startling contrast

against the crimson foliage.

Sunlight catches the tips of trees

magnifying the ruby tones

blushing richer and richer

redder and redder. . .

This is why I love autumn

it’s the one last, ferocious show

of colour, of life

before winter comes and takes it all away

it grabs my attention

without saying a thing,

nature doesn’t need to talk

because beauty speaks for itself

it touches everyone

it is everything.

The Lazell Garden

8 Comments

  1. avian101

    Be kind to Nature and Nature will provide you with everything you need to be happy. Nice work Becky. 🙂

    Like

    • Exactly HJ, we are on the same wavelength where nature is concerned! Thank you for reading and commenting 😀 x

      Like

  2. beautiful Acers and lovely poem!

    Like

    • Thank you! Acers are just beautiful at this time of year 🙂 x

      Like

  3. An amazing poem Becky, which takes us as close to those beautiful trees as we can be without being there. You have certainly painted a vivid picture with these words.

    I love how you say nature doesnt need to talk; beauty certainly does speak for itself. Xx

    Like

    • Thank you very much Christine, I knew you would understand this poem! For me nature really is everything 😀 x

      Like

  4. Loved your poem, Becky. I hadn’t thought of it that way before, but winter does suck the color out of everything, so it is especially nice that the trees are flamboyantly colorful before that happens.

    Like

    • Thank you Deb, I’m glad you liked the poem. Autumn is very inspiring! 🙂 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

