For My Eyes Only

It’s day two of National Blog Posting Month – for me anyway! Here’s a poem I wrote today, inspired by the misty morning and the sunrise afterwards. It’s called “For My Eyes Only” – enjoy! 🙂

Sunrise

As soon as I step outside

I’m shrouded

from head to toe

in mist,

it feels like I’m walking

into nowhere

low slung cloud covers

the entire landscape,

my eyes are made redundant

only my feet know

where I’m going.

It’s strange how quiet

everything suddenly seems

no birds chirping, or leaves rustling

like the world is too busy watching, waiting

for it to become visible again.

From out of nowhere I catch a glimpse

of dawn

blinking her eyes, rubbing away sleep

the mist disappearing more and more

as she slowly rises,

like a veil has being lifted

but instead of a bride hiding beneath

it’s a beautiful, radiant day.

Light filters through patchy cloud

highlighting dewdrops in the grass

shimmering like diamonds in the sun,

a haze of pink borders the sky

creeping higher and higher

up the horizon

until there’s an explosion of colour

like a silent firework display

is happening for my eyes only. . .

Nature never ceases

to amaze me.

10 Comments

  1. avian101

    Wow! That’s a very nice poem and romantic too! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you HJ, I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 x

      Like

  2. A beautiful sunrise indeed.

    Like

    • Thank you for reading and commenting, it was a very beautiful sight 😀 x

      Like

  3. Great shot and poem.

    Like

    • Thank you! I appreciate the read and comment 🙂 x

      Like

  4. Gorgeous photo and poem Becky. You are so good at writing down immediately, what you see, in such a beautifully articulate way. Xxx

    Like

    • Thank you Christine, for such a lovely comment – it means a lot 😀 glad you liked the poem and photo! X

      Like

  5. Trina

    I’m in such inspired awe and grateful for stumbling across your absolutely beautiful poetry.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment, I’m glad you enjoyed this poem! I’m pleased you found my blog too, thanks again 😀 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

