Farewell Eden

I can’t believe I’m writing my last post about my time at Eden – tomorrow is the last day of my apprenticeship! I honestly don’t know where the time has gone, it seems like only weeks ago I was excitedly sharing the news that I had an interview to work at the Eden Project. . . and the rest, as they say, is history. Hibiscus

I’ve had more ups and downs than a rollercoaster, at times this past year has been so challenging I found myself wondering why the hell was I putting myself through this – then something awesome would happen, like having the opportunity to work at Kew, or getting a place on the Professional Gardeners’ Guild Traineeship and life would make sense again. Lucie babe!

I’ve been incredibly lucky to work with so many talented horticulturists who are genuinely wonderful people as well. They have given so much of their time to teach me skills and techniques I had never learnt before and given me responsibilities which have proved to myself I know more than I give myself credit for – self-belief is the main thing this apprenticeship has taught me.

My home!

When I look back to this time last year I had no idea what I was letting myself in for. I was prepared for the physical hard work but I didn’t imagine I would be put in as many challenging situations as I have been, or the fact I coped with them as well as I did. Me with the butterflies!

I feel I now have not just the practical horticultural skills which are vital for any future job but also the right attitude and outlook which will stand me in good stead when I look to running a garden of my own, one day. Plants and people go hand in hand! Dahlias

Since I came back from Kew the last few weeks at Eden have been brilliant. I suddenly realised how little time I had left at this unique place and was determined to soak up as much of it as possible before I left – which I have done!

The Rainforest

I’ve been working inside and outside, for my last week I could choose where I wanted to be so I chose the Rainforest Biome, surprise surprise! Tropical plants are just my thing, this may be the last chance I get to work with exotic species for a while, depending on which garden I end up working at whilst on the PGG Traineeship – hopefully one will be botanical. More butterflies!

I’ve become great friends with most of my co-workers, it sounds corny but I feel as close to some people as I do my own family. I will definitely stay in touch and visit Cornwall regularly, it’s become my home! Wild flower meadow

I have taken loads of photos, of areas outside, inside and just general shots of the past week. The dahlia and wild flower meadow are looking beautiful outside, and the Rainforest looks gorgeous, as always. I was lucky enough to get some pictures of the butterflies in the biome, a couple even landed on me and stayed long enough to have their photo taken!

I’m going to the pub tomorrow evening to have a few drinks with everyone from Eden, as a final farewell. I will have more photos to share over the weekend, for now I hope you enjoy these shots. As we say in Norwegian, farvel vennene mine – farewell my friends. . .

Another butterfly!

5 Comments

  1. A lovely post Becky and very moving. Your emotions must be working overtime at this stage of your experience! Fabulous photos as ever. 🙂

    Like

    • It’s a very surreal feeling, I’m excited about moving onto my next job but at the same time sad to leave Eden because it is such a unique and inspiring place to work, with people to match 🙂 Thank you for reading, glad you like the photos! x

      Like

  2. avian101

    Dear Becky! I’ll be to the expectative to find out what it’s the next step in your life, which I’m sure will be very exciting as always! My cheers to you my dear! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you HJ, I can’t wait to write the first post about my new job! 😀 x

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Farewell Eden | Life of a Plant Lover

What are your thoughts?

