Imagine

Hello everyone, I’m back! For those of you who don’t know I’ve spent the past two weeks doing a work placement at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, in London. I had a fantastic time and am busy writing about my experience to share with you all soon. Until then here’s a poem I wrote, inspired by the night – it’s called β€œImagine”. I hope you enjoy. πŸ™‚

Touching the moon

Sometimes I look at the night

and imagine. . .

the stars as fairy lights

blinking on and off,

the darkness a duvet

a cover for the world

and the moon a shiny, bald head

tucked up sleeping

safe and sound.

Sometimes I look at the night

and imagine. . .

the moon a lighthouse

guiding me whenever I am lost,

the darkness an eternal sea

to swim through

and the stars little silvery fish

splish-splashing their way to shore.

Sometimes I look at the night

and imagine. . .

the stars as an audience

thousands and thousands of them,

the moon a spotlight

beaming directly on me

and the world a stage

just waiting for me

to perform.

Sometimes I look at the night

and imagine. . .

the moon as a pendant

hanging round the neck

of the world

and the stars as sequins

embroidering the velvet dress

of the sky.

Sometimes I look at the night

and imagine. . .

the stars as all the tears I’ve cried

just waiting to be wiped away,

the moon a hammock to sleep in

and drift away peacefully to dream

the darkness as warm and welcoming

as a mother’s hug.

Sometimes I look at the night

and imagine

I’m dreaming with my eyes open

the darkness the same I see

when my eyes are shut,

the moon and the stars

the same dazzling light

hopes and passions are made of.

Sometimes I look at the night

and imagine

leap-frogging the moon

using the stars

as stepping stones

until I reach the heart

of the universe

and run and run and run

until my shadow is the only thing

which is holding me back. . .

12 Comments

  1. I love this poem!

    Like

  2. This is lovely! Each word has had its affect- its wonderful!

    “Sometimes I look at the night
    and imagine. . .
    the moon as a pendant
    hanging round the neck
    of the world
    and the stars as sequins
    embroidering the velvet dress
    of the sky.
    Sometimes I look at the night
    and imagine. . .
    the stars as all the tears I’ve cried”

    You are without doubt, a great writer! I look forward to read about your journey too. Best wishes!
    – Maria

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment Maria πŸ˜€ There’s just something about the night which captures my imagination – thanks again! x

      Like

      • Pleasure is all mine! πŸ™‚
        The nights are always so intriguing.. They hold mystical mysteries~

        Like

      • Definitely, glad you agree πŸ™‚ x

        Like

  3. This is a gorgeous piem abecky.

    The night was certainly full to overflowing with inspiration. πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to hearing about your Kew experience πŸ™‚

    Xx

    Like

    • Thank you Christine, the night never fails to inspire me πŸ™‚ I’ve almost finished my Kew write-up, now I’m sorting through all the photos I took to go with it! x

      Like

  4. wow your imagination is so beautiful ! I am a fan πŸ™‚ Love the words and phrases you used as metaphors for the real things….So lovely πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you! When writing I like connecting nature to every day beauty πŸ˜€ x

      Like

  5. Wonderful imagery Becka! I shall look forward to reading about your time at Kew.

    Like

    • Thank you Lea πŸ™‚ my Kew write up is finished, I’m just editing the photos to go with it! x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

