Amazing News!

I have some wonderful, fabulous, amazing news to share – I have a place on the Professional Gardeners’ Guild three year Traineeship, wooh wooh!! A London tour bus

I received an email on the 1st June inviting me to attend an interview in London, at the Historic Houses Association. I didn’t have much time to prepare, I crammed in as much revision as I could which included re-reading my application and mentally making notes for answers I could give if certain questions were asked. A gorgeous rose

I got the coach up to London, which took me into Victoria Station for Thursday afternoon. My interview was at 10am on Friday, I could have caught the overnight coach up but thought I would feel like death warmed up and look worn out – not a good look. You don’t get a second chance to make a first impression! Embassy buildings

The interview was 40 minutes long, with two people – one of whom is the president of the Professional Gardeners’ Guild, John Humphris himself. Me in the Rose Garden

It was a very informal, chatty interview, as if I was just discussing it casually with family or friends – I asked questions about the course in general, nearly as many as the panel did. Let’s just say it was the complete opposite to my Kew interview! Pink beauties

I felt it had gone really well, and I remember thinking to myself “Well even if I don’t get in I did my best, which is all I could do”. I wasn’t being pessimistic but realistic, as I was informed that ten applicants were being interviewed and only three places were available. This time it turned out my best was good enough! The Rose Garden again

John Humphris rang me this morning to tell me the good news, I have been on cloud nine ever since. . . I can’t believe it, I’m so happy! Water feature

I’ll receive all the practical information within a few days, like starting dates and which garden I’ll be working in for my first year – it would be handy to know which corner of Britain I’m going to be shipped off to when I finish at Eden! Wellington Arch, in Hyde Park Corner

I had time to do some sight-seeing while I was in London which was lovely. The weather was gorgeous, warm and sunny with blue skies for both days – there’s nothing worse than travelling when its raining. The Serpentine

I came across Belgrave Square by accident, but ended up seeing loads of Embassy buildings, including one with the Norwegian flag flying outside. A signpost!

I’ve never seen so many Audi’s, BMW’s and Mercedes’ as I did in that area of London. I half expected guards to come running out of nowhere to arrest me for taking photos – I look like such a typical terrorist after all! The Palace gates

I went to Hyde Park which was awesome, and saw the Serpentine and Rose Garden. There were beautiful pink and yellow roses in flower which smelt just heavenly. Me and my Mum must have spent a good half-hour just wandering round with our noses in every bush! Buckingham Palace, with guests arriving

When the surroundings go from grey to green in an instant and vehicles change from cars to bicycles it was easy to forget I was in the capital city. The fact you don’t have to pay to go in Hyde Park is astonishing considering you need to pay for virtually everything in London, even to use a toilet! Beefeaters

It was essential to see Buckingham Palace, I’d seen it loads of times on television so to see it for real was definitely the highlight of the trip. Horse parade

I was extra lucky because there was a garden party happening that afternoon, so not only did I see the Palace in all its glory but I also watched all the guests arriving in posh outfits. It was hat central, I saw some which looked like flying saucers! Buckingham Palace

I saw the beefeaters marching through the royal grounds and witnessed a parade of horses trotting past the gates, clearly practising for the Trooping of the Colour next week. Considering I had just planned to see the Palace itself I saw a lot of added extras which I was pleased about! Yellow rose

The main thing I achieved was getting a place on the PGG Traineeship, of course. I’m still in shock but in a good way – I can now enjoy my last months at Eden without wondering what I’ll be doing afterwards. Roll on September! 🙂 Me and Mum

15 Comments

  1. Congratulations once again, Becky. You are really on fire! 🙂 x

    Like

  2. avian101

    I’m very happy for you Becky! Congratulations! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you HJ, that’s really nice of you! 🙂 x

      Like

  3. Congratulations Becky! I dont know you all that well yet, but this news pleases me so much. You have such ethusiasm for what you do. Im sure you will go far 🙂

    Well done 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Christine, for such a sweet comment 😀 I think if you have enthusiasm and determination you can achieve anything! x

      Like

  4. WOO HOO CONGRATULATIONS BECKY! I am very happy for you!! 🙂

    Like

    • LoL thank you Donna, I’m so happy too – YAY!! 😀 x

      Like

  5. I don’t know much about the gardening world, but from your enthisiasm, I say to you, well done. I love the pics.

    Like

    • Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed the images – it was great being able to get around London a bit. Thanks again! 😀 x

      Like

  6. Congratulations on getting a trainee position with the Professional Gardeners’ Guild.

    As an American who has been a tourist in London a few times, it was interesting to read about you seeing the sights in London. It is such a long trip for someone from here, so in my imagination people who lived nearby (anywhere in Britain!) would be able to see it all the time. But of course now I realize that’s not the case. It sounds like you had a fun time.

    Like

  7. Thank you Deb! I’ve visited London three times but this is the first trip I’ve had time to look around and actually see some sights – it made a nice change.
    London is very expensive compared to where I live in Cornwall so I only travel up there when needs must, usually for work or job interviews. I’m glad I made the most of my time up there 🙂 Thanks again x

    Like

  8. Excellent! Congrats; it’s sure to be a fabulous experience!

    Like

  9. CONGRATULATIONS!

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Amazing News! | Life of a Plant Lover

What are your thoughts?

