Cloud-Spotting

It’s been an absolutely beautiful day today, it feels like summer is edging ever closer. I spent some time after work doing what I do best, just lying outside and daydreaming. . . here’s a poem I wrote called “Cloud-spotting” with a photo to match. Hope you enjoy! 🙂 P1020050

Clouds forming patterns

I couldn’t begin to describe

filling the sky, turning it into

the most beautiful picture

I have ever seen.

The sky that blue

it’s the blue of baby boys

and Mediterranean seas,

the blue of sparkling water

love-in-the-mist, Piscean eyes

and the blue of wild rivers

lapis lazuli and, of course

summer skies. . .

The clouds seem

freshly plumped

as if someone

has taken a deep breath

and blow them all up,

I just want to reach out

and squeeze them tight

they look so soft

and cushiony

like marshmallows

usually I think pastels. . .

er, no

but now I’m going pastels. . .

er, wow.

I could lie here forever

head resting in my hands

gazing at the sight above

in sheer wonder,

if only I had forever

to cloud-spot and sky-watch

until my heart was content

if only I had forever

but, for now,

today will do. . .

8 Comments

  1. What a great poem, I just feel like I’m there floating about in that delicious ‘marshmallow’ sky. I love the ‘love- in-the-mist, piscean eyes’ , beautiful imagery and rhythmic. Love-in-the-mist is one of my favourite flowers, they’re such a wonderful deep blue.

    Like

    • Thank you – this poem was literally how my thoughts went as I lay cloud-spotting so I’m glad you like it!
      I have a soft spot for blue flowers in particular, love-in-the-mist, meconopsis, delphiniums, bluebells. . . the list is endless! Thanks again x

      Like

  2. Lovely photo and poem too.

    I can just see your meansering thoughts appearing while lyiing beneath this gorgeous sky!
    🙂

    Christine

    Like

    • Thank you Christine, for such a lovely comment! 😀 x

      Like

  3. What a beautiful poem Becky, such talents you have!

    Like

  4. Thank you Donna! 🙂 x

    Like

  5. Amazing poetry 🙂 I loved reading it.

    Like

    • Thank you for reading and leaving such a nice comment! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

