NaPoWriMo – The Last Day!

Omigod! It’s the 30th of April already, the end of National Poetry Writing Month – it’s come round quicker than I expected! I am so glad I participated in NaPoWriMo, not just for my own satisfaction but also because of the amazing and talented other writers I’ve met on the way. Moon

I hope to continue making as much time for poetry writing as I have done this past month, and to keep sharing them on my blog. I’ll say it for the final time, for the last day of NaPoWriMo this is another moon poem called “What the Moon Does to Me”. I hope you enjoy the read 🙂

 

Sometimes a whisper can convey

more than a shout

he rises silently, softly

until suddenly

he’s there

and I’m captivated

mesmerized

drawn closer and closer

into his beauty

I’ve always thought

his shadows of grey

look like the beard

of a wise old man

oh the things

the things you could tell me

if only you could talk. . .

He dominates the night sky

with the afterglow of the sun

keeping day

present in night

how could I

not notice him

how could I

not fall in love with him,

He puts the mystery, the magic

into the night

I think that’s why I love it

so much.

The essence of freedom

ignites my soul

I’m a free spirit at heart

to think I could travel the earth

and still see the same moon

from wherever I was in the world

that thought really makes me smile.

For he’s always there

the one bright beam

in the darkest of hours

it’s part of his allure

that constant elusiveness

I’m a sucker

for the things I can’t have,

even if I used

all the words in the world

it still wouldn’t be enough. . .

There are some things

which can’t be explained

or described

they need to be felt

they need to strike a flame

in your heart

touch the innermost depths

of your soul

and bring to life

the emotion inside of you

which you thought could never be unlocked

for that’s what he does

that’s exactly what the moon does to me

he is my release

he sets me free.

4 Comments

  1. What a beautiful moon poem. I’m a moon gazer too! Happy moon gazing. A shame poetry month has ended. May there be many more!

    Like

    • Thank you, moon gazing is the best 🙂 I’m already looking forward to poetry month next year! x

      Like

  2. Awesome Becky..I too love the moon…it makes my heart sing…every time i behold its beauty. I love what you did with it! 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for such a lovely comment, I’m glad you feel the same – I could easily write enough about the moon to fill a book! 🙂 x

    Like

What are your thoughts?

