NaPoWriMo – Day 10

Normally I’m an early bird as I have to be in work by 7.30am but I was awake even earlier today thanks to the raucous calls of a pheasant outside my bedroom window at 5.30am! It was annoying at the time but if it hadn’t been for that real early bird I wouldn’t have seen the sun rising this morning and been inspired enough to write this poem there and then. It’s called “Ready to Fly” – who knows, one day I might! Hope you enjoy the read 🙂

 

The sea

like a sheet of ice

still and smooth

motionless

with not even a ripple

of imperfection.

The horizon

like my dreams

always, ever so slightly

out of reach

with a haze surrounding it

like the glow from a fire

gradually growing brighter

and brighter

until my gaze

is reduced to a squint

and I have to lower my gaze

and shield my eyes

in order to see,

I can’t see

but I can feel

the warmth,

the wonder,

the hope I suddenly have

I feel so free

as if I could fly

I’ve never been more ready

as I shrug off my shadow

start to run

and aim my chin

at the sky. . .

2 Comments

  1. Great job B…I have experienced that feeling too! Beautiful portrayal 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you, it’s the feeling I wanted to come across the strongest in this one. I just scribbled it quickly so I’m glad you like it – thanks! 🙂 x

    Like

What are your thoughts?

