NaPoWriMo – Day 7

The inspiration behind this poem is, of course, my mum. I was thinking about how she has always been there for me and encouraged me to pursue my dreams and ambitions, no matter what they were. She tells me to follow my heart and believe in myself, no matter what. Love like that is unconditional and I sometimes take it for granted – I forget just how special my mum is. This is an ode purely for her, I hope you enjoy it and can relate to it in regards to your own mother 🙂

If footsteps were peace

I’d walk the earth,

If petals were love

I’d give you a flower fit to burst.

If leaves were happiness

I’d give you a tree,

If water were laughter

I’d give you the sea.

If feathers were hope

I’d give you a bird,

If promises were faith

I’d always keep my word.

If stars were harmony

I’d give you the galaxy,

You are more than a mum

You are everything to me.

6 Comments

  1. avian101

    Excellent poem Becky! 🙂

    Like

  2. Yeah for mothers, without them we would not be here..good job! Thank you also for stopping by my cyber space. 🙂

    Like

    • My thoughts exactly, mums rock! You’re welcome, thank you for checking out mine 🙂 x

      Like

  3. That’s so sweet! I hope your mom sees it.

    Like

    • She has, she loved it! Not that she’s biased or anything though 😉 Thank you Deb! 🙂 x

      Like

What are your thoughts?

