NaPoWriMo – Day 6

I think the inspiration behind this poem is clear as crystal – spring! I’ve been out and about all day, just enjoying the countryside and lovely weather for a change and it was like wherever I looked nature was screaming at me, as if to say spring is finally here. For Day 6 of NaPoWriMo here’s a poem called Spring Has Sprung. . . I hope you like it πŸ™‚

Primroses scattered
across leafy green banks

the daffodils and them
beaming such a bright
dazzling yellow,

look as if they were sent
straight from the heart of the sun

they’re the flowers
of smiles.

Long catkin fingers trail the breeze
like someone running their hands
through my hair,

I feel if the wind only had arms
it would reach out
and wrap me in a hug.

Snowdrops fully opening out
their petals little umbrellas
against early April showers,

if only we could shrink
to Borrower size at will
and tiptoe around, be the fairies
in our own garden
and drift away on a dandelion seed head
whenever the fancy took us.

It’s like nature
has stripped off all its cosy layers
now that spring has sprung
and has given us the tip-off
to bare all, and bask
in our naked glory,

I rest my head
in the fresh, pillowy grass
and watch the blue haze
consume the whole sky,
I can’t help but smile

and who wouldn’t
when you can still see beauty
even when you close their eyes. . .

2 Comments

  1. avian101

    You said it Becky, the Spring has sprung! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • It definitely has, better late than never! Thank you HJ πŸ™‚

      Like

What are your thoughts?

