NaPoWriMo – Day 4

The weather has been absolutely beautiful in Devon today – it’s been warm, sunny and still, I didn’t realise how much I’d missed feeling the sun on my face. It’s made me feel the lovebug again, it’s not often I write in a rhyming verse but the words just came to me this time. So for Day 4 of NaPoWriMo this is a poem called I Love. I hope you like it! 🙂

I feel love when I see

the golden light of dawn,

I feel love when I hear the birds singing

telling me a new day is about to be born,

I feel love when I’m in time

to rise with the sun,

I feel love when she bursts forth

like a glowing flood breaking grey banks. . .

morning mum.

I feel love when I hear

the gentle pad of paws,

I feel love when I sense a furry head

nudging open a half-closed door,

I feel love when I stroke

my soul mates on all-fours,

I feel love at the sound

of a meow or two,

I feel love when I see the sky

stretched out as a sea of blue.

I feel love for the milkman

“here’s some leftover milk for your cats”

I feel love when I hear the postman

push the mail through the cat-flap,

I felt love in the hug

my friend gave me today,

I felt love in the fact she knew

it was all I needed to keep my tears at bay,

I feel love when a total stranger

stops and smiles at me,

I feel love when I sit on a bench

and watch the wind ruffle the trees.

I feel love when my phone bleeps

and it’s a mate, “just saying hi”

I feel love when I look at the world

and have no idea why.

I feel love every day

love of all different kinds,

love is always there

if only we opened our eyes

and weren’t so blind,

I feel love in these words

I feel love in my heart

I feel love for you,

I love. . .

I just do.

2 Comments

  1. What a beautiful poem. What a glorious day. It is good to meet someone who is so in love with life.

    Like

  2. Nothing is better than life itself! Thank you for your comment, I appreciate you checking out my blog 🙂 Thanks again! x

    Like

What are your thoughts?

