NaPoWriMo – Day 3

Here’s a poem for Day 3 of NaPoWriMo, called My Land of Dreams. It’s about having a place of sanctuary, a nirvana, to escape to when the reality of life gets too much – even if it’s only in our minds. Thank you to everyone who has read and liked my previous NaPoWriMo posts, it is great encouragement for me! I hope you enjoy this poem as much as the rest 🙂

Beyond these walls

there’s a place away from the screams,

in my own world

my land of dreams. . .

Where shouts turn to birdsong

and cries turn to laughs,

when happiness is sunshine

banishing the dark.

Where fights are with pillows

and tears are of joy,

where there is silence

never any noise.

Where anger is unknown

and hate is love,

where lies are clouds

kept high above.

Where peace is mine

mine and yours,

echoing instead of

the banging of doors.

Beyond these walls

there’s a place where things are what they seem,

in my own world

my land of dreams. . .

What are your thoughts?

