NaPoWriMo – Day 2

It’s Day 2 of NaPoWriMo (for me anyway!) and I’ve actually written a brand, spanking new poem. What with my head still feeling befuddled with antibiotics I didn’t think I’d be able to attempt writing anything poetic until the effects had worn off but I’m happy to say I am back to feeling almost normal again!

For those of you who don’t know I am just a tad obsessed with the moon and have written numerous poems about him. This is yet another one to add to the collection – it’s called Skinny Moon. Hope you enjoy! 🙂

There’s nothing more underwhelming

than a moonless night

it depresses me

to see the sky so bare, empty

naked.

The stars twinkle their usual, iridescent shine

but it’s not the same

there’s one thing missing

the night feels lonely,

incomplete

it’s lost a companion

and I have too

nothing but stark,

harsh blackness

in the place of where he should be.

There’s no opulent

blazing light,

I too feel naked

not being immersed

head to toe

in sheer, blinding white.

It’s as if someone’s come along

and smudged him out of the picture

erased him clean away.

If you hadn’t seen the before

you might not think there was anything wrong

with the after

but I have

and I do. . .

Tonight is unfinished

like we’re on tenterhooks

holding our breath,

waiting. . .

Until I see

the first sign of you,

that silver fin appearing

peeking out from behind a cloud

dazzling even when

you seem as small as my eyebrow.

You look strange to me

like you’ve been on a diet

it doesn’t suit you, you know

going all anorexic

Mr Moon, can you hear me?

Still, I’ll tell you something

I’ve never been so glad

to see a skinny moon

as I am tonight

I can’t wait for you to swell

becoming fuller and fuller

until you’re the amazing, spectacular being

I know and love

but for now you’ll do

after all, any moon is better

than no moon at all.

2 Comments

  1. The lines seem weighed down with sadness.

    Like

  2. Ahh in a way they are, I miss not seeing the moon in the sky. Thank you for commenting 🙂 x

    Like

What are your thoughts?

