NaPoWriMo

The other day I found out by chance that it’s NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month, http://www.napowrimo.net) for the whole of April – I blame my ill health for not being aware of it sooner!

Even though NaPoWriMo is already at the halfway stage I’m still going to join in. Even if I don’t manage to write a new poem every day I still hope to post a poem every day (or every couple of days. . !)

I wrote this piece when I was seventeen, it’s about seeing the beauty in everything, no matter what it is. Poetry has been with me ever since I could write, but for people who don’t have it I can’t imagine what it’s like – for me it would be like not feeling, not breathing. . . Sometimes I forget how lucky I am! Anyway, enough of me rambling – I hope you enjoy the read 🙂

Before

I never appreciated

I never understood

I never felt

I never saw

and now. . .

When dusk filters

like blinds being let down,

pink sears the valley

slowly turning a scarlet red

as if the sky

has been sliced in half,

the world bleeding

until night comes

and the next morning, when the sun

tints the freshly spun clouds

a soft blonde

and beams a smile

the way only a mother could

as she kisses her child’s wound

and it heals

from love.

When the moon

begins to rise

and you become

his audience,

for weeks seeing you wax

and now

you climax,

blinded by your ice

feeling so close to you

if I spread my arms wide enough

I might be able to cup

you in my hands,

and drink in your

scintillating warmth

tasting your fever, your fervour

as if it were my own.

When there’s a change

in the air,

a subtle, almost unrecognisable

change,

the breeze whispers

as if to say

shhh

if you speak aloud of it

it might not come,

tiny buds radiate

specks of soon-to-be blossom

adorning the bleak outline of trees,

and I take this sign

at nature’s ease

to smile and

breathe.

Before

I never appreciated

I never understood

I never felt

I never saw

until now. . .

4 Comments

  1. avian101

    Very nice Becky! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you HJ! 🙂 x

    Like

  3. Love it! 🙂 Ode to the art of expression!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

