For Matt

This is the first time I’ve felt like writing for a couple of weeks because something very unexpected and sad has happened – one of my colleagues at Eden has died. You may remember I wrote briefly about him in one of my previous posts (Eden Antics). Matt was cycling to work in the morning and had a collision with a vehicle, dying instantly. The news has sent a ripple of sadness throughout Eden, everyone is in shock.

Matt was such a character, he had been at Eden for ten years and knew everybody there. His sense of humour was the funniest I’ve ever known, working with him was a laugh a minute – he could brighten up even the dullest of jobs and never failed to put a smile on my face. The passion he had for his job shone through, I could feel his enthusiasm rubbing off onto me just by being around him.

I only knew him for a short amount of time but it felt like I had known him for years. I’m only one person who will miss him immensely– Matt is irreplaceable, Eden has lost one of the best horticulturists they ever had. The way his life ended is tragic, a devastating loss and one which will never leave us. Matt Collings, you will always be in our hearts, thoughts, and, most importantly, our laughs. . .

4 Comments

  1. avian101

    I’m so sorry for the loss of you colleague Becky. Such a tragic news. G-d bless his soul.

    Like

  2. What a terrible loss. My heart goes out to you and to Matt’s other friends and family.

    Like

  3. Thank you Deb and HJ, your words and thoughts mean a lot 🙂 ♥

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. For Matt | Life of a Plant Lover

What are your thoughts?

