Watching the Earth Wake

This shot is the reason why I was running late for work this morning, sometimes moments like this stun you into forgetting the everyday routine of life. For me this sunrise wasn’t worth missing for anything! I hope you enjoy the pic, and poem to accompany it. πŸ™‚

 

Steam rises and falls

misting the entire landscape

heat boiling rain-kissed grass

I open my eyes in time to see the earth wake.

Ever so slowly it stretches

the tip of the sun blinking lazily

watching the sky yawn,

clouds still blushing pink from their night out

hurriedly scuttling into place for dawn.

Shadows cast now disappear

a blast of blazed orange chases away the cold,

I fling my dirty yellow penny towards the horizon

see it land with a ping right in the middle

then slowly rise up

as gold.

10 Comments

  1. Beautiful photo and beautiful poem! Thank you so much for sharing and helping me smile!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks so much for reading, you’ve made my day with your lovely comment! I’m glad it made you smile πŸ™‚ β™₯

      Like

  2. Stunning sunrise! Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  3. Thank you! I appreciate the read and comment – thanks again! πŸ™‚ β™₯

    Like

  4. Stunning photo and I loved the poem. The image of the sky yawning will stay with me for quite awhile and probably re-surface in something. πŸ™‚
    LΓ©a

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by LΓ©a, for me it’s impossible not to get inspired by sunrises πŸ™‚ I always appreciate your thoughts, from one poet to another – thank you! πŸ™‚ β™₯

      Like

  5. Gorgeous photo. Thank you for stopping by my blog. I’m enjoying looking through yours.

    Like

  6. You’re welcome, I’m glad I came across your blog πŸ™‚ Thank you for the likes and this great comment! β™₯

    Like

  7. Beautiful sunrise capture, Becky. What a way to start the day, I would have been late to work too! Birds do that to me in the mornings, LOL πŸ™‚ What a beautiful poem too!

    Like

  8. Ahh I know what you mean, I lose all track of time when watching nature! Thank you for the read and comment Donna πŸ˜€ β™₯

    Like

What are your thoughts?

