Sunrise

It’s not often I’m asleep when the sun rises, usually I’m just too busy getting ready to leave the house to stop and watch the morning glory – but today was different.

The moment I saw dawn about to break I could tell it was going to be an amazing sunrise and I wasn’t disappointed. The sky, the sun, the clouds, everything shone with such a stunning beauty it made me stop and go wow.

The shot I took is the view I have from my bedroom window; the poem was written whilst the sun was rising. For me poetry and photography go together like strawberries and cream . . . I hope you agree!

I recall the day

just before sunrise

the moon was still out

it was that time before dawn

when the orange glow he wore

almost made me mistake him

for the sun itself.

The whole sky was dark

and yet

it had a certain lightness to it

as if illuminated from underneath

by the heart of the earth

getting brighter and brighter

with every second which passed,

until the horizon split in half

like someone had shot a hole

in the middle

and it bled

slowly at first

then rapidly becoming redder

and redder

and redder

it was like I was staring

straight at the biggest

most beautiful

fire in the world,

consuming the landscape

for as far as my eye could see

it made even the most barren landscape

seem alive, awash

with beauty.

When the sun fully rose

I had to close my eyes,

it was the intensest light

I’ve ever seen

my skin shone gold

and I felt so warm

the warmth I was seeing

I was then feeling. . .

It’s moments like this

which make memories

and it’s feelings like that

which make me remember,

I’ll never forget that sunrise

it only lasted for a few minutes

but will stay in my mind

forever.

6 Comments

  1. Such beautiful words to accompany such a wonderful photograph.

    Like

    • Thank you for such a great comment, I appreciate you taking the time to check out my blog. Thanks again! ♥

      Like

  2. Chris

    Stunning photo and a great poem, thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Thank you for the compliment! and thanks for reading 😀 ♥

      Like

  3. avian101

    Beautiful photo and nice poem! Thank you for your visit to my blog. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you H.J, for your comment and for checking out my blog too! 🙂 ♥

      Like

What are your thoughts?

