A Poem for Mother’s Day

This is a poem I wrote for my mum, for Mother’s Day. Once you’ve read this you’ll understand just how special my mum is to me, and how much I love her. The relationship I have with my mum is one I truly treasure – I know I’ll never be as close to anyone as I am to her. She really is everything to me:

You are everything beautiful

to me

the first break of sunrise

staining the world gold,

the overwhelming perfume of spring flowers

infecting the air we breathe,

the moon on a silent night

releasing all the love in your heart.

You are everything real

to me

the effortless swing

of a swift in full flight,

the rumbling ache

of a thunderstorm gathering pace,

the scorching heat

of a piercing summer sky.

You are everything true

to me

a rose in bud, blooming such a scarlet red

it could rival the desert sun,

a tree in blossom, glowing such a candyfloss pink

you can almost taste the sugar on your tongue,

a bird in song, bursting such a joyful chorus

it can’t help but bring a smile to your face.

You are everything

to me

everything beautiful

everything real

everything true

from here

to the ends of the earth,

to the furthest star

in the remotest galaxy,

doesn’t even come close

to how far my love

stretches for you.

Thank you mum

for being all you are

and all you can be,

thank you for being

everything to me.

2 Comments

  1. What a wonderful tribute to your mum! I’ve just visited several of your posts. Your writing is beautiful & I’m surprised at your young age. Keep chasing your dream to be a journalist and you will succeed! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hi Donna, thanks so much for your comment, for you to take the time to read my posts means so much to me. And to have my first comment too! πŸ˜€ Thanks again! β™₯

      Like

What are your thoughts?

