Moonstruck

Did anyone see the moon last night? If you did you’ll know what I’m harping on about, and if you didn’t then you missed a breathtaking sight – he was absolutely stunning.

You may as well know right now that I’m slightly awestruck with him. In fact it goes beyond obsessive and I know many of you will shake your heads in despair when you read this but I’m going to say it anyway – I’m in love with the moon. Maybe I even worship him like a god, for I never say “it” when referring to the moon in any way, always “him”. My belief is how could something as gorgeous as him be labelled inanimate?

I don’t know what it is about him, there’s just something which captures my mind and my heart – always has done and I suspect always will do. You don’t need to be a romantic or border on insane (both of which apply to me) to appreciate his beauty, you only need a few minutes to draw back your curtains and be prepared to go wow. . .

I’ve written numerous poems about him, (how could I not!) the one thing I can be sure will stop my mental block is the moon. As soon as I see him I suddenly have inspiration in abundance – Lady Gaga can marry the night but all I want is a small part of it to be my other half!

I think at this point I’ll stop rambling before I get put in a strait jacket(!) and share with you a personal favourite moon poem of mine – it’s called Moonstruck:

I stare, awe-struck

wondering if you can hear

my tremoring heartbeat

beating faster and faster in my chest,

I dare not

breathe you in all at once

for I fear if I drink you up now

there won’t be any of you left tomorrow. . .

Looking at you

is like viewing the world

in black and white,

Opulent white

instead of a trembling blue

Husky grey

instead of a raw green,

Making a patchwork map

you are the earth

in monochrome.

When I hold up my hand

and spread my palm wide

you fit snugly

in the centre

like a coin

a ten pence piece

which has been flipped

and landed, seemingly random

but almost perfectly so,

You are the reason

people get cricked necks,

you lift the head

as hope lifts the soul.

Your craters and dents

like ribs on a skeleton

your sleek flesh stretched across

to within an inch of their lives

Your heart sends a beam

out amongst the stars

it’s the light

at the end of the tunnel,

The breath of relief

in the mournful, winter nights,

You are the stopper

to our eternal sighs,

may one day you burst forth

and flood the whole skies.

2 Comments

  1. Ahhh! To gaze at the nighttime illumination. I’m moonstruck as well. Thanks for sharing and taking the time to stop by my blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Like

  2. You’re welcome, I always enjoy taking a look at your blog. 😀 Thank you for taking the time to look back in my blog and to comment on my first post – I greatly appreciate it, thank you! 🙂 ♥

    Like

What are your thoughts?

